2017 Medicine by Design New Ideas Awards

The following projects received 2017 New Ideas Awards from Medicine by Design:

Novel high avidity nano-tools to study lipid-reactive T cells

Lead principal investigator: Thierry Mallevaey (Department of Immunology)

A macrorobotic capsule for in vivo sampling of the human gut

Lead principal investigator: John Parkinson (SickKids Research Institute and departments of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics)
Co-investigator: Eric Diller (Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering)

MRI-guided focused ultrasound as a non-invasive cell delivery strategy for cell repair in the retina

Lead principal investigator: Carol Schuurmans (Sunnybrook Research Institute, Department of Biochemistry)
Co-investigators: Isabelle Aubert (Sunnybrook Research Institute, Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathobiology) and Kullervo Hynynen (Sunnybrook Research Institute, Department of Medical Biophysics)

Development of a broadly-applicable method for rapid, non-invasive, label-free assessment of stem cell-derived cardiomyocyte contractile function

Lead principal investigator: Craig Simmons (Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, Institute for Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering, and Translational Biology and Engineering Program of the Ted Rogers Centre for Heart Research)
Co-investigator: Filio (Phyllis) Billia (Toronto General Research Institute and Department of Physiology)

Deorphanizing the stem cell secretome

Lead principal investigator: Mikko Taipale (Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research and Department of Molecular Genetics)
Co-investigator: Jason Moffat (Donnelly Centre for Cellular and Biomolecular Research and Department of Molecular Genetics)

Development of a digital microfluidic laser cell lysis platform to study single-cell heterogeneity in neural stem cell populations

Lead principal investigator: Aaron Wheeler (Department of Chemistry and Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering)
Co-investigator: Cindi Morshead (Division of Anatomy, Department of Surgery)

Read more about the award recipients